Thursday, December 5, 2013

Mojo Buford - Harpslinger

This disc features classic, Muddy Waters-approved vintage Chicago-style blues. Heavy on the harmonica, seasoned with tasty dashes of piano and fat-bodied guitar, it has the sort of sound which screams "Chicago - 1950's", which it fitting. Among the many harmonica players in Muddy's band over the years, Mojo stands alone as the only one to have toured with Muddy in the 1950's, 60's, 70's, and 80's.
Recorded in analog, without benefit of overdubs or gimmicks, this is close as you'll get to a truly live recording. Mojo is backed by members of Rockin' Daddy & the Rough Cuts (Dan Schwalbe - guitar, Jack Taylor - bass, and Greg Shuck - drums) as well as one-handed blues pianist Mike "the Hook" Deutsch, and Curtis Blake on second harp.
On several tracks, this line-up is joined by Teddy Morgan on second guitar and R.J. Mischo and third harp. The effect is a supurb tappestry of interwoven melodies, each delightfully adding to the thick ensemble sound. Highly recommended for knowledgable blues aficiandos.
Mojo's original lyrics will crack you up, and the musicianship is outstanding. Worth looking for!
Amazon review for the later CD release.



12vjoe said...

You do such a great job uncovering and presenting exquisite, rare recordings! Keep up the great work - & thanks!

Anonymous said...

Very good album. Thank you.

Bob Mac said...

No titles for these tracks in the tags, so here they are:

01. Everything's Gonna Be Alright
02. Oh Baby
03. Got My Mojo Working
04. Harpslinger
05. I Got My Brand On You
06. Once Upon A Time
07. Pink Champagne
08. Don't Whup Your Wife On A Sunday
09. Why Did She Walk Away?
10. Early One Morning
11. Champagne & Reefer
12. Upper Mississippi Shuffle
13. Trouble No More
14. Blues With A Feeling
15. Sittin' Here Thinkin'
16. Ghetto Blaster