Friday, August 26, 2016

Juicy Harmonica Vol. 1-3



Part 1:
Part 2:

The rar files contain flacs and are almost 200mb each except for volume 3 that I had to split due to it's size.
Request re-post.

Eddie Taylor & Billy Boy Arnold - VJ Tracks

Born Edward Taylor in Benoit, Mississippi, United States, as a boy Taylor taught himself to play the guitar. He spent his early years playing at venues around Leland, Mississippi, where he taught his friend Jimmy Reed to play guitar. With a guitar style deeply rooted in the Mississippi Delta tradition, in 1949 Taylor moved to Chicago, Illinois.
While Taylor never achieved the stardom of some of his compatriots in the Chicago blues scene, he nevertheless was an integral part of that era. He is especially noted as a main accompanist for Jimmy Reed, as well as working with John Lee Hooker, Big Walter Horton, Sam Lay and others. Taylor's own records "Big Town Playboy" and "Bad Boy" on Vee Jay Records became local hits in the 1950s.
Taylor's son Eddie Taylor Jr. is a blues guitarist in Chicago, his stepson Larry Taylor is a blues drummer and vocalist, and his daughter Demetria is a blues vocalist in Chicago. Taylor's wife Vera was the niece of bluesmen Eddie "Guitar" Burns and Jimmy Burns.
Taylor died on Christmas Day in 1985 in Chicago, at age 62, and was interred in an unmarked grave in the Restvale Cemetery in Alsip, Illinois. He was posthumously inducted into the Blues Hall of Fame in 1987.

 Billy Boy Arnold born in Chicago, he began playing harmonica as a child, and in 1948 received informal lessons from his near neighbour John Lee "Sonny Boy" Williamson, shortly before the latter's death. Arnold made his recording debut in 1952 with "Hello Stranger" on the small Cool label, the record company giving him the nickname "Billy Boy".
In the early 1950s, he joined forces with street musician Bo Diddley and played harmonica on the March 2, 1955 recording of the Bo Diddley song "I'm a Man" released by Checker Records.[1] The same day as the Bo Diddley sessions, Billy Boy recorded the self-penned "You Got to Love Me" which was not released until the box set, Chess Blues 1947-1967, in 1992.
Arnold signed a solo recording contract with Vee-Jay Records, recording the originals of "I Wish You Would" and "I Ain’t Got You". Both were later covered by The Yardbirds. "I Wish You Would" was also recorded by David Bowie on his 1973 album, Pin Ups and by Sweet on their 1982 album, Identity Crisis.
In the late 1950s Arnold continued to play in Chicago clubs, and in 1963 he recorded a LP, More Blues From The South Side, for the Prestige label, but as playing opportunities dried up he pursued a parallel career as a bus driver and, later, parole officer.
By the 1970s Arnold had begun playing festivals, touring Europe, and recording again. He recorded a session for BBC Radio 1 disc jockey John Peel on 5 October 1977.
In 1993 he released the album Back Where I Belong on Alligator Records, followed by Eldorado Cadillac (1995) and Boogie ’n’ Shuffle (2001). In 2012, he released Blue and Lonesome featuring Tony McPhee and The Groundhogs.

Thursday, August 25, 2016


One more week and I'm outta here. We're going for a 5-6 weeks vacation and it will be my first trip back home in 50+ years. It's going to be wierd, emontional and I hope fun for both of us.
Coming weekend there might be some time over to post a couple of LP's that have already been ripped by KansasJoe; if not I'm sure you all have enough music backed up for a lifetime.

Wednesday, August 24, 2016

Blues Queen Sylvia (Embry) - Midnight Baby

A1 I'm Hurtin'
A2 Life And Troubles
A3 New York Bound
A4 Baby, What Do I Do
B1 Midnight Baby
B2 Party
B3 Can't Get Along
B4 Why Wonder


George Jackson - Sweet Down Home Delta Blues

A1 Down At The Crossroads
A2 Key To The Highway
A3 Times Are Gettin' Hard
A4 Catfish Blues
A5 12th Street Boogie
B1 Sweet Home Chicago
B2 Down In The Cotton Fields
B3 Sugar Mama
B4 Annie Lee
B5 Leavin' Kansas City

Piano Red - Happiness Is Underground Atlanta

A1 Underground Atlanta 2:07
A2 The Right String But The Wrong Yo Yo 2:22
A3 Coo Cha 2:52
A4 Rockin' With Red 2:57
A5 Sixty Minute Man 1:55
A6 Sugar Bee 2:31
B1 I Want A Bowlegged Woman 3:07
B2 Corrine Corrina 2:44
B3 Good Rockin' Tonight 2:22
B4 Red's Boogie 2:35
B5 Low Down Dog 2:59
B6 Shake Rattle And Roll 3:02

Thank you KansasJoe

Jimmy McGriff - Black Pearl

Black Pearl 3:35
In A Mellow Tone 5:18
Man From Bad 4:15
Ode To Billie Joe 6:38
Groove Alley 8:18
C Jam Blues 10:34

Thanks go to BluesDude for sharing

San Francisco Blues Festival Vol. 1-3




Thanks go to KansasJoe for filling this request

Tuesday, August 23, 2016

Thank You

One of my major short comings is that I'm terrible in thanking everyone for their comments, help, sharing and info given on the postings. Without you it wouldn't be a blog worth visiting.
So one big thank you, a lot of shoulder slapping and grab a drink and enjoy the music.

Sunday, August 21, 2016

Jimmy McGriff & Junior Parker - Same

A1 Don't Throw Your Love On Me So Strong
A2 Pretty Baby
A3 I Need Love So Bad
A4 Baby Please Don't Go
B1 Five Long Years
B2 No-One Knows (What Goes On When The Door Is Closed)
B3 Don'T Let The Sun Catch You Cryin'

Thanks go to KansasJoe